It hurts to be me (a poem)

IT HURTS TO BE ME

By Okah Ewah Edede

You would love to paint pictures with words,
I know,
And etch words with colours splashed from the artist palette,
I know,
But one thing you do not know is that
It hurts to be me.

You would love to shed those weights,
I know,
And remain trim without ever visiting the gym,
I know,
But, one thing you do not realize is that
It hurts me to be slim.

You would love to be called a polymath,
I know,
And both friends and foes testify you are no dullard,
I know.
But one thing you do not know is, I’d rather be dull than smart
If only I would be spared this chronic pain.

It really hurts to be me,
But you don’t know this because you don’t see the sickles,
Tainting my blood; tainting my vein,
Bloating my joints, and hurting my being.
Oh, if only you could see the me that is in me,
You would never wish to be me.

Leave a comment